Book Online

Reviews

Write a Review

“Wonderful Time"
March 2016

We had a wonderful time on the tour last night. The stories were great. Mike did a fabulous job. He is a great storyteller. I would highly recommend to anyone who is a history buff. ?


“Ghosts are not my thing but....”
February 2016

This was a nod to the desires of the girlfriend. Mike was engaging and very informative. I appreciated his approach and his research. I think the route was well thought out and well lit. She was happy, therefore I am very happy and appreciate the effort from Mike.


“Great Tour!
February 2016

This was such a great tour! Although it was probably the coldest night in Charleston, Mike\'s tour kept us on the tips of our toes with his fascinating ghost stories. What I liked was that not only was he knowledgeable about Charleston history, he also shared lots of stories about happenings on his tours, as well as stories his tour members have told him. All around such a fun thing to do in Charleston and thoroughly freaky. A must!


“Ghosts are not my thing but....”
February 2016

This was a nod to the desires of the girlfriend. Mike was engaging and very informative. I appreciated his approach and his research. I think the route was well thought out and well lit. She was happy, therefore I am very happy and appreciate the effort from Mike.


“Best ghost tour yet!”
February 2016

I've been on at least a dozen ghost tours in six states. This is by far the best one yet!

Mike Brown was the guide. He has a vast knowledge of the history of Charleston. He is funny and engaging, a truly gifted storyteller. The tour covers about a mile in an hour and a half and is an easy walk. You see some beautiful old buildings along the way. The stories are plausible and have some basis in fact. It is a great way to spend an evening.


“Walking Ghost Tour”
November 4, 2015

Our Old Charleston guide on the Halloween ghost tour was Mike and he was fantastic!! We walked along many interesting areas of Charleston. Not only did Mike do his own research but you could see he had a passion about this town! He shared some stories about his own encounters as well!

This tour was historical but he brought in enough "scare" to make this one of the best Halloweens ever!!


“Fun Stories. Great History.”
September 11, 2015

Mike Brown is a fabulous storyteller. My kids, aged 11 and 13, were thoroughly engaged the whole time. The historical tidbits were great. Definitely an excellent walking tour.


“No Ghosts but Lots of Fun”
August 16, 2015

We took the 9:30 pm ghost tour with our girls, ages 16 and 10 and were pleasantly surprised. I was a little leery prior to the tour, worrying that it might be cheesy or overly scary for our girls, but Mike was a very good guide and included some humor along with the stories of strange happenings. He really did a good job including factual information about Charleston history and explained that he researched the stories that he told as best he could, then retold them to us and it was up to us to draw our own conclusions. I was also pleasantly surprised at how safe I felt walking around town that late at night. There were tons of people out and about coming and going from restaurants and shows and we didn't see anything sketchy that made us fear for our safety.


“So fun!”
July 31, 2015

My kids loved this tour, we all loved seeing and hearing about "old" Charleston. We went back the next day to explore the graveyard where some of the ghost stories began. So fun!


“Enjoyable ghost tour!”
July 10, 2015

Took the 7:30pm ghost tour with Mike on 7/8/15. The 9:30pm tours I was hoping for were already sold out for the week. Decided to try this 7:30pm tour instead of one from a different group because of the positive reviews on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed - our family really enjoyed the tour. Mike's ghost stories were interesting and his delivery is great! Got to learn some interesting Charleston history along the way. Really happy with our choice.


“My first, and most awesome, ghost tour!”
June 22, 2015

Mike Brown conducted this tour and he is a phenomenal story teller. There were people of all ages on the tour and Mike has truly done his research to ferret out the "facts" or at least theories behind the history of each sightings. I appreciated the fact that we didn't go into any creepy, scary buildings and nothing jumped out at us! It's a good 90 minutes with one bathroom stop in a hotel.


“Very knowledgable guide gave us a wonderful ghost walk.”
May 10, 2015

Michael Brown is a well spoken and knowledgable guide. I would take another your tour without thinking twice. Good family fun!


“Fantastic ghost tour, lots of history and spooky stories!”
March 14, 2015

There are lots of different companies that offer ghost tours in Charleston, but I can't recommend Old Charleston Walking Tours enough. My friend and I did a 9:30 PM tour with Mike Brown, and he was fantastic - not only is he a phenomenal storyteller, but I could tell that he had also done extensive research and really knew what he was talking about. By the end of the tour, we had learned a lot of interesting tidbits about Charleston history, got to see some really cool parts of downtown we had missed while exploring on our own, and - most importantly - were sufficiently spooked. Mike's tour was fantastic and we absolutely loved our experience!


“My family w/ teens enjoyed this!”
February 8, 2015 via mobile

Michael Brown is a great guide and he really knows how to give you the creeps! Totally in a good way. :-). The stories of possible haunting a were very interesting and got all of our wheels turning. My tween and my teens sons were creeped out!They enjoyed the walk enough to be talking about it back at the hotel that night. We were happy with our tour, even in the rain.


“Informative, well organized tour”
December 17, 2014 via mobile

I purchased a groupon ticket to attend the ghost tour with my husband. Mike Brown the guide did an excellent job. He shared people's experiences & encounters with ghosts and then historical facts that back these events & occurrences. He also shared fun facts about the city which I would have never known. Very well organized & informative. I would go back with my family again without a groupon voucher!


“Ghost Tour Review”
November 3, 2014

I've lived here my whole life, and so when some family friends came into town wanting a ghost tour and I decided to go with them, I honestly I wasn't expecting to have such a wonderful time. The way in which Mark Brown told the stories, his voice and pitch changes accompanied by vivid descriptions and spooky backdrops left you wanting even more as the tour came to an end. It really made me fall in love with downtown Charleston again, walking the old streets in the cool nights air, hearing about the past. I would definitely recommend anyone from a local to a tourist singing up with Mark and exploring Charleston's haunted side.


“Great Ghost Tour”
September 22, 2014

Among the many ghost tour options we chose this one based on the various reviews and were most definitely not disappointed. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and had a great command of the audience’s attention. He knew the stories and history inside and out and was able to wrap all the tales together while even including some fun facts along the way. A member of our group had been on a different ghost tour the night before and said this one was 10x better. I would highly recommend this tour!


“Haunted Ghost Tour Also Includes Lots of Charleston History”
August 5, 2014

Old Charleston Walking Tours guide Mike Brown provided an excellent ghost tour. Mike is very knowledgeable of Charleston haunts and history. He is a Charleston native and has been providing tours for many years. He has the perfect voice for telling creepy ghost stories. My favorite story was about the Charleston jail. We also stopped in front of a locked cemetery gate to hear a story. The next day when the gates were open we walked through the cemetery. It was overgrown and looked abandoned. Mike is happy to answer any questions you have throughout the tour. You won't be disappointed in this ghost tour. Thanks for a great tour!


“WOO-HOO”
June 8, 2014

What a great adventure! Had a blast following our guide (I think his name was Mike) around Charleston. Very Intelligent and informed tour, And he had the perfect bold, somewhat creepy story-teller voice to go along with it! Great tour for the whole family. HIGHLY RECOMMEND.


“Great Addition to Trip”
March 24, 2014

On our second trip to Charleston, my husband and I opted to try a Ghost Tour. I chose the 930pm starting time, figuring that there wouldn't be any small children, and it was apt to be scarier. Mike Brown, tour guide extraordinaire, was so interesting and made the tour lots of fun. His stories were filled with lots of history and were spot on informative. He piqued our interest in so many places, that my husband and I made sure to revisit some of them the next day on our own. Mike carries an IPAD and will add to the experience with photos, enlarged and passed around for all to see. A not to be missed experience!


“Wonderful walking tour!”
March 2, 2014

We did the haunted walking tour at 730 pm. Mike was a great storyteller and knew how to handle a large group. His voice was loud enough to hear, and he made sure that others could navigate around us. I also loved that had had pictures and connections to history Mike was able to provide.

I would not recommend this tour for kids. The stories weren't too scary, but the one kid on our tour seemed pretty bored. His mother kept trying to stop picking up rocks and climbing on walls surrounding the cemeteries.


“Wonderful walking tour!
February 2014

We did the haunted walking tour at 730 pm. Mike was a great storyteller and knew how to handle a large group. His voice was loud enough to hear, and he made sure that others could navigate around us. I also loved that had had pictures and connections to history Mike was able to provide.

I would not recommend this tour for kids. The stories weren't too scary, but the one kid on our tour seemed pretty bored. His mother kept trying to stop picking up rocks and climbing on walls surrounding the cemeteries.


“Great Time”
February 2014

We have been to South Carolina several times, however have not taking a walking tour before. We were amazed at the history of Old Charleston. Mike our tour guide was very knowledgeable. He answered our questions and very accommodating. This tour is well worth your time. You will not be disappointed..


“Great Evening Walk”
May 20, 2013

If your looking for a serious tour guide this is the tours to reserve. We took his ghost tour, and not only did he tell ghost tours , he back them up with historical information. He talked loudly for everyone to hear and was respectful to those that were walking on the side walk. You could tell he has a passion for the job. When we finished the tour, I was left hanging on for more information. I would definitely go with this company again.He didn't try to pressure you into believing, but left it up to your thinking. Mike Brown was our tour guide.


“Great Time!”
May 20, 2013

Mike really gets into his presentation of the stories he tells. He walked us around Charleston to several different locations for almost 90 minutes and really did the stories justice by building the suspense. Mike is very knowledgeable and supports his claims with actual events or facts from research on the events/places. I would definitely recommend his tour to anyone!


“Bar None, Mike Brown is the best choice. Walking Ghost Tour 5/14/2013.”
May 20, 2013

If you read ALL the reviews, he gets a 5 circle rating for a reason, he is worth it! Mike was born and raised in Charleston. His stories are all based on research, not just off the wall stories! I will never forget John and Lavinia Fisher, Zoe St. Amand of Sue Howard Hardy. Awesome stories, he enjoys questions and interaction, so speak up. Everyone agrees, when the tour is over, there is a sense of loss. Mike Brown could have a 4 hour tour and and it would end too soon!

The next day, I bet you will drive past some of the places you toured the prior evening........or go to the old jail house! Mike Brown, Jeff the bartender at The Blind Tiger and seeing a dolphin next to the water taxi were unforgettable! Charleston definitely rocked! Enjoy! Mykell & Christine NJ


“Great Ghost Tour - 05/15/2013!”
May 20, 2013

If you are looking for a great ghost tour, look no further! Mike Brown was our tour guide for the 7:30 p.m. tour on Wednesday, May 15th. He was an excellent guide who not only told us some of Charleston's creepier side, but he also talked about general history of the area. Ghost tales were connected with historical events seamlessly and the tour was a great blend of spooky and informative. Mike spoke in a loud, clear voice so that no one had to strain to hear him. Not only did we get a great tour, but we also got ideas for sight-seeing on the rest of our trip based off of some of the information that he shared with us. When the tour was over, I was left wanting to hear more stories! I highly recommend this tour. It was money well spent.


“Excellent tour guide!”
May 19, 2013

If your looking for a serious tour guide this is the tours to reserve. We took his ghost tour, and not only did he tell ghost tours , he back them up with historical information. He talked loudly for everyone to hear and was respectful to those that were walking on the side walk. You could tell he has a passion for the job. When we finished the tour, I was left hanging on for more information. I would definitely go with this company again.He didn't try to pressure you into believing, but left it up to your thinking. Mike Brown was our tour guide.


“Best Thing to Do in Charleston!”
May 18, 2013

Mike was our guide for the 9:30 pm tour on Wednesday, May 15. He is not only a great storyteller, i actually found myself believing it! The town in and of itself is a perfect setting for tales of the ghost of Lavinia Fisher, the first white woman hung in the state of South Carolina as well as a serial killer. Also, the story of Edgar Allan Poe visiting the grave of his love intereste Annabelle Lee Ravenel was intriguing. Will do again when we visit again! Thanks MIKE!


“5/17/13 Ghost Tour”
May 17, 2013

Did a ghost tour with Mike on 5/13 and loved it! We chose Old Charleston Walking Tours because they were advertised to be pet friendly. They couldn't have been more accommodating of our lab. We enjoyed learning more about Charleston's history. Talking later, we agreed it was the best money we had spent during our trip in Charleston.

Powered by Face Websites