Book Online

Reviews

Write a Review

“Wonderful Time"
March 2016

We had a wonderful time on the tour last night. The stories were great. Mike did a fabulous job. He is a great storyteller. I would highly recommend to anyone who is a history buff. ?


“Ghosts are not my thing but....”
February 2016

This was a nod to the desires of the girlfriend. Mike was engaging and very informative. I appreciated his approach and his research. I think the route was well thought out and well lit. She was happy, therefore I am very happy and appreciate the effort from Mike.


“Great Tour!
February 2016

This was such a great tour! Although it was probably the coldest night in Charleston, Mike\'s tour kept us on the tips of our toes with his fascinating ghost stories. What I liked was that not only was he knowledgeable about Charleston history, he also shared lots of stories about happenings on his tours, as well as stories his tour members have told him. All around such a fun thing to do in Charleston and thoroughly freaky. A must!


“Ghosts are not my thing but....”
February 2016

This was a nod to the desires of the girlfriend. Mike was engaging and very informative. I appreciated his approach and his research. I think the route was well thought out and well lit. She was happy, therefore I am very happy and appreciate the effort from Mike.


“Best ghost tour yet!”
February 2016

I've been on at least a dozen ghost tours in six states. This is by far the best one yet!

Mike Brown was the guide. He has a vast knowledge of the history of Charleston. He is funny and engaging, a truly gifted storyteller. The tour covers about a mile in an hour and a half and is an easy walk. You see some beautiful old buildings along the way. The stories are plausible and have some basis in fact. It is a great way to spend an evening.


“History Tour”
December 6, 2015 via mobile

Our tour guide was Dennis "Denny" Stiles. He was fantastic. He was very knowledgeable and had a good sense of humor. Would recommend the history tour to anyone who would like to know more about the history of Charleston!


“Walking Ghost Tour”
November 4, 2015

Our Old Charleston guide on the Halloween ghost tour was Mike and he was fantastic!! We walked along many interesting areas of Charleston. Not only did Mike do his own research but you could see he had a passion about this town! He shared some stories about his own encounters as well!

This tour was historical but he brought in enough "scare" to make this one of the best Halloweens ever!!


“Great tour of Charleston!”
October 17, 2015

Denny was a fabulous tour guide- shared a ton of history and random facts and was very unrushed. We actually went about 2.5 hours!


“Fun Stories. Great History.”
September 11, 2015

Mike Brown is a fabulous storyteller. My kids, aged 11 and 13, were thoroughly engaged the whole time. The historical tidbits were great. Definitely an excellent walking tour.


“No Ghosts but Lots of Fun”
August 16, 2015

We took the 9:30 pm ghost tour with our girls, ages 16 and 10 and were pleasantly surprised. I was a little leery prior to the tour, worrying that it might be cheesy or overly scary for our girls, but Mike was a very good guide and included some humor along with the stories of strange happenings. He really did a good job including factual information about Charleston history and explained that he researched the stories that he told as best he could, then retold them to us and it was up to us to draw our own conclusions. I was also pleasantly surprised at how safe I felt walking around town that late at night. There were tons of people out and about coming and going from restaurants and shows and we didn't see anything sketchy that made us fear for our safety.


“So fun!”
July 31, 2015

My kids loved this tour, we all loved seeing and hearing about "old" Charleston. We went back the next day to explore the graveyard where some of the ghost stories began. So fun!


“Enjoyable ghost tour!”
July 10, 2015

Took the 7:30pm ghost tour with Mike on 7/8/15. The 9:30pm tours I was hoping for were already sold out for the week. Decided to try this 7:30pm tour instead of one from a different group because of the positive reviews on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed - our family really enjoyed the tour. Mike's ghost stories were interesting and his delivery is great! Got to learn some interesting Charleston history along the way. Really happy with our choice.


“My first, and most awesome, ghost tour!”
June 22, 2015

Mike Brown conducted this tour and he is a phenomenal story teller. There were people of all ages on the tour and Mike has truly done his research to ferret out the "facts" or at least theories behind the history of each sightings. I appreciated the fact that we didn't go into any creepy, scary buildings and nothing jumped out at us! It's a good 90 minutes with one bathroom stop in a hotel.


“great walking tour with an excellent guide”
May 31, 2015 via mobile

We did the historic walking tour yesterday afternoon & would highly recommend it to those who are interested in getting an overall picture of Charleton, past and present - the history, architecture, politics, economy, etc.
We had a v manageble group of 7 and spent over 2 & 1/2 v interesting hours with our guide walking gently around the historic part of the city. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable & despite throwing questions about all and any aspects of Charleston there was nothing that he couldn't answer & in great detail at that. We really felt we got a great overview of the history and an appreciation of the architecture. I have done many city waking tours around the world & this rates right up there. I just wish I had time to do the civil war & slave one.


“Very knowledgable guide gave us a wonderful ghost walk.”
May 10, 2015

Michael Brown is a well spoken and knowledgable guide. I would take another your tour without thinking twice. Good family fun!


“Civil War and Slavery Tour with Dennis”
April 20, 2015

This was literally the best tour of any city that I've ever had. I've always been a big history buff and I must say, Dennis really knew his stuff. This tour even appealed to my girlfriend who isn't nearly into history as I am. Even if you think you know a lot about the Civil War or slavery in the South, Dennis will teach you tons! The tour should last about 2-3 hours and it is well worth the money. Ask Dennis more about his background if you get a chance. He is a really awesome guy and he will impress you.


“Fantastic ghost tour, lots of history and spooky stories!”
March 14, 2015

There are lots of different companies that offer ghost tours in Charleston, but I can't recommend Old Charleston Walking Tours enough. My friend and I did a 9:30 PM tour with Mike Brown, and he was fantastic - not only is he a phenomenal storyteller, but I could tell that he had also done extensive research and really knew what he was talking about. By the end of the tour, we had learned a lot of interesting tidbits about Charleston history, got to see some really cool parts of downtown we had missed while exploring on our own, and - most importantly - were sufficiently spooked. Mike's tour was fantastic and we absolutely loved our experience!


“My family w/ teens enjoyed this!”
February 8, 2015 via mobile

Michael Brown is a great guide and he really knows how to give you the creeps! Totally in a good way. :-). The stories of possible haunting a were very interesting and got all of our wheels turning. My tween and my teens sons were creeped out!They enjoyed the walk enough to be talking about it back at the hotel that night. We were happy with our tour, even in the rain.


“Informative, well organized tour”
December 17, 2014 via mobile

I purchased a groupon ticket to attend the ghost tour with my husband. Mike Brown the guide did an excellent job. He shared people's experiences & encounters with ghosts and then historical facts that back these events & occurrences. He also shared fun facts about the city which I would have never known. Very well organized & informative. I would go back with my family again without a groupon voucher!


“Ghost Tour Review”
November 3, 2014

I've lived here my whole life, and so when some family friends came into town wanting a ghost tour and I decided to go with them, I honestly I wasn't expecting to have such a wonderful time. The way in which Mark Brown told the stories, his voice and pitch changes accompanied by vivid descriptions and spooky backdrops left you wanting even more as the tour came to an end. It really made me fall in love with downtown Charleston again, walking the old streets in the cool nights air, hearing about the past. I would definitely recommend anyone from a local to a tourist singing up with Mark and exploring Charleston's haunted side.


“Dennis knows his history-Great History Tour-”
October 22, 2014

There are several walking tours to choose from, but I can tell you that you will not be disappointed with Dennis and his Civil Way & Slavery tour. He enjoys what he is doing and he has an enthusiastic personality. He has a notebook with pictures to go with his stories. The tour ended in two hours and 30 minutes. We have been on several walking tours in other cities and Dennis sits at the top of our list for knowledge and enjoyment. Book on line for a special rate on his web site.


“Great Ghost Tour”
September 22, 2014

Among the many ghost tour options we chose this one based on the various reviews and were most definitely not disappointed. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and had a great command of the audience’s attention. He knew the stories and history inside and out and was able to wrap all the tales together while even including some fun facts along the way. A member of our group had been on a different ghost tour the night before and said this one was 10x better. I would highly recommend this tour!


“Awesome tour with Dennis!”
August 25, 2014

I was the only one on the History & Homes Tour with Mr. Dennis Stiles! We were supposed to have another couple, but they didn't show...and they missed out! We walked Charleston for close to 2.5 hours. For the value, best tour ever! For the facts and trivia I learned, the same! This was my second trip to Charleston, and I learned a lot. Mr. Stiles was very good at his job and was very friendly to everyone he met. I'd use Old Charleston again in a heartbeat!


“Haunted Ghost Tour Also Includes Lots of Charleston History”
August 5, 2014

Old Charleston Walking Tours guide Mike Brown provided an excellent ghost tour. Mike is very knowledgeable of Charleston haunts and history. He is a Charleston native and has been providing tours for many years. He has the perfect voice for telling creepy ghost stories. My favorite story was about the Charleston jail. We also stopped in front of a locked cemetery gate to hear a story. The next day when the gates were open we walked through the cemetery. It was overgrown and looked abandoned. Mike is happy to answer any questions you have throughout the tour. You won't be disappointed in this ghost tour. Thanks for a great tour!


“Happy Customer!”
July 23, 2014

Went on Homes and History Tour last week. Dennis was tour guide, he was very informative and knew a ton about history! He made the tour interesting. The best part is that he's open to questions- and knows the answers to questions!! Great time!!


“WOO-HOO”
June 8, 2014

What a great adventure! Had a blast following our guide (I think his name was Mike) around Charleston. Very Intelligent and informed tour, And he had the perfect bold, somewhat creepy story-teller voice to go along with it! Great tour for the whole family. HIGHLY RECOMMEND.


“Outstanding....”
May 21, 2014 via mobile

Great walking tour, History and Homes. Dennis is fabulous as a guide. He is extremely knowledgable and very engaging and will answer any question. While we were touring other walking and carriage tours passed us by...clearly we made the right choice with Old Charleston! Dennis guides with a passion to share and draw folks in to Charleston history.... TIP: get there early as it is not easy (the first time) to find Washington Park where you meet your guide.


“Wonderful walking tour!”
April 22, 2014

We were lucky enough to have Dennis Stiles as our tour guide. It turned out that my husband & I were the only ones to show up that day. Dennis took us on a great tour, explaining the history of Charleston. He seemed to enjoy his job, and that translates to an informative tour. Highly recommend!


“Dennis Stiles was great!”
April 8, 2014

I took the Old Charleston Walking Tour, led by Dennis Stiles, last week on a beautiful Saturday afternoon. Dennis was a fantastic tour guide. The pace was great, the information was fantastic and the stories and anecdotes really added to the fun. I learned so much I never knew about Charleston, as did my sisters-in-law who both live there! Upon returning home I immediately bought some books about the history of Charleston and cannot wait to learn more. Great tour for anyone interested in the fascinating history of this great city.


“Great Addition to Trip”
March 24, 2014

On our second trip to Charleston, my husband and I opted to try a Ghost Tour. I chose the 930pm starting time, figuring that there wouldn't be any small children, and it was apt to be scarier. Mike Brown, tour guide extraordinaire, was so interesting and made the tour lots of fun. His stories were filled with lots of history and were spot on informative. He piqued our interest in so many places, that my husband and I made sure to revisit some of them the next day on our own. Mike carries an IPAD and will add to the experience with photos, enlarged and passed around for all to see. A not to be missed experience!


“Wonderful walking tour!”
March 2, 2014

We did the haunted walking tour at 730 pm. Mike was a great storyteller and knew how to handle a large group. His voice was loud enough to hear, and he made sure that others could navigate around us. I also loved that had had pictures and connections to history Mike was able to provide.

I would not recommend this tour for kids. The stories weren't too scary, but the one kid on our tour seemed pretty bored. His mother kept trying to stop picking up rocks and climbing on walls surrounding the cemeteries.


“Wonderful walking tour!
February 2014

We did the haunted walking tour at 730 pm. Mike was a great storyteller and knew how to handle a large group. His voice was loud enough to hear, and he made sure that others could navigate around us. I also loved that had had pictures and connections to history Mike was able to provide.

I would not recommend this tour for kids. The stories weren't too scary, but the one kid on our tour seemed pretty bored. His mother kept trying to stop picking up rocks and climbing on walls surrounding the cemeteries.


“Great Time”
February 2014

We have been to South Carolina several times, however have not taking a walking tour before. We were amazed at the history of Old Charleston. Mike our tour guide was very knowledgeable. He answered our questions and very accommodating. This tour is well worth your time. You will not be disappointed..


“Great Evening Walk”
May 20, 2013

If your looking for a serious tour guide this is the tours to reserve. We took his ghost tour, and not only did he tell ghost tours , he back them up with historical information. He talked loudly for everyone to hear and was respectful to those that were walking on the side walk. You could tell he has a passion for the job. When we finished the tour, I was left hanging on for more information. I would definitely go with this company again.He didn't try to pressure you into believing, but left it up to your thinking. Mike Brown was our tour guide.


“Great Time!”
May 20, 2013

Mike really gets into his presentation of the stories he tells. He walked us around Charleston to several different locations for almost 90 minutes and really did the stories justice by building the suspense. Mike is very knowledgeable and supports his claims with actual events or facts from research on the events/places. I would definitely recommend his tour to anyone!


“Bar None, Mike Brown is the best choice. Walking Ghost Tour 5/14/2013.”
May 20, 2013

If you read ALL the reviews, he gets a 5 circle rating for a reason, he is worth it! Mike was born and raised in Charleston. His stories are all based on research, not just off the wall stories! I will never forget John and Lavinia Fisher, Zoe St. Amand of Sue Howard Hardy. Awesome stories, he enjoys questions and interaction, so speak up. Everyone agrees, when the tour is over, there is a sense of loss. Mike Brown could have a 4 hour tour and and it would end too soon!

The next day, I bet you will drive past some of the places you toured the prior evening........or go to the old jail house! Mike Brown, Jeff the bartender at The Blind Tiger and seeing a dolphin next to the water taxi were unforgettable! Charleston definitely rocked! Enjoy! Mykell & Christine NJ


“Great Ghost Tour - 05/15/2013!”
May 20, 2013

If you are looking for a great ghost tour, look no further! Mike Brown was our tour guide for the 7:30 p.m. tour on Wednesday, May 15th. He was an excellent guide who not only told us some of Charleston's creepier side, but he also talked about general history of the area. Ghost tales were connected with historical events seamlessly and the tour was a great blend of spooky and informative. Mike spoke in a loud, clear voice so that no one had to strain to hear him. Not only did we get a great tour, but we also got ideas for sight-seeing on the rest of our trip based off of some of the information that he shared with us. When the tour was over, I was left wanting to hear more stories! I highly recommend this tour. It was money well spent.


“Excellent tour guide!”
May 19, 2013

If your looking for a serious tour guide this is the tours to reserve. We took his ghost tour, and not only did he tell ghost tours , he back them up with historical information. He talked loudly for everyone to hear and was respectful to those that were walking on the side walk. You could tell he has a passion for the job. When we finished the tour, I was left hanging on for more information. I would definitely go with this company again.He didn't try to pressure you into believing, but left it up to your thinking. Mike Brown was our tour guide.


“Best Thing to Do in Charleston!”
May 18, 2013

Mike was our guide for the 9:30 pm tour on Wednesday, May 15. He is not only a great storyteller, i actually found myself believing it! The town in and of itself is a perfect setting for tales of the ghost of Lavinia Fisher, the first white woman hung in the state of South Carolina as well as a serial killer. Also, the story of Edgar Allan Poe visiting the grave of his love intereste Annabelle Lee Ravenel was intriguing. Will do again when we visit again! Thanks MIKE!


“5/17/13 Ghost Tour”
May 17, 2013

Did a ghost tour with Mike on 5/13 and loved it! We chose Old Charleston Walking Tours because they were advertised to be pet friendly. They couldn't have been more accommodating of our lab. We enjoyed learning more about Charleston's history. Talking later, we agreed it was the best money we had spent during our trip in Charleston.


“Slavery and the Civil War by Dennis Stiles”
May 16, 2013

His tour was excellent-the highlight of our visit to Charleston.His knowledge of the city,the War,life in that period and the people seems to have no limits.He has a friendly easy way of sharing his knowledge that is is engaging and very enjoyable. We would highly recommend any of his tours ----doubt anyone can bring Charleston to life like Dennis


“Perfect way to spend a day in Charleston!”
May 14, 2013

I was very very pleased with Dennis's History & Homes tour. Very informative and passionate without overbearing facts. Our group was small, which I like more intimate tour compared to another tour group we saw, struggling to hear their guide. He hit all the major points of interest I wanted to explore, i.e. St. Michaels, Rainbow, Waterfront Park, along with other surprises!! Plan a lunch, take the afternoon tour, followed by drinks on the on the bay. Great day!


“Civil War and Slavery Tour”
May 13, 2013


We were looking at walking tours of Charleston and, being interested in history, decided on the Civil War and Slavery Walking Tour. We called ahead to confirm our spot and make sure that the tour was dog-friendly, and arrived just in time on Friday to make the tour. Dennis was extremely knowledgeable about the history surrounding the Civil War and slavery, both in the context of the events in and around the city and in the context of the causes, implications, and finer points of the war for the country at large. He fielded questions expertly, whether they were about the talking points on the tour or where to find a good bite to eat. We brought a small dog along with us on the tour, and both Dennis and the rest of the tour group were very accommodating and friendly with him. It was a real pleasure to take this tour, we not only learned a great deal about the history of Charleston and the Civil War, but we had a great time doing it. I would recommend tours with this company to anybody interested in learning about the city, and will certainly try the other tours when I visit again!

Powered by Face Websites